The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath: It would be a waste of time to try to read the whole book.

Too bad, I was excited to read this book after reading a biography of her by Alexander_______. However, the book left me disappointed. I could not understand anything; while reading, my mind kept wandering. That is a clear sign to me that the book could not grab my attention and it would be a waste of time to try to read the whole book. I just could not follow the writing at all. There was no plot, no flow that lead me from one event to the other.

I read some of the other reviews from readers who also did not like the book. Some people felt that the book was too depressing and too self indulgent. That is the whole point of depression. Depression leads the mind inside oneself and finds fault with the world around it or finds fault about him or herself. It makes sense that her book shows the main character as someone who was self-absorbed. That’s part of what depression is.

Source: Amazon. Juliane Daye.

One thought on “The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath: It would be a waste of time to try to read the whole book.

  1. Pingback: The Best Worst One-Star Reviews of Books - GalleyCat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

