Beowulf: I don’t even think I want to see the movie after reading it.

There’s a chance I’m missing something here, though not a good chance. In some ways it was very in-your-face direct, and in other ways it was too lengthy, which is an odd thing to say considering it’s approximately 100 pages. Beowulf is the epitome of manliness, unlike any image of today’s “man.” (i.e. football, wings, and beer) Okay, I can appreciate that; but it took a hundred pages to tell the story of a man who killed three beasts. Seems kind of short actually, right? Well, each event was told in approx. two pages apiece, while the rest was filled with stories of good kings/bad kings/lineage. I don’t think I would’ve been so let down if the title was Beowulf and Other Short Stories. Having said all that, I can see why many people like it, I think I was just expecting more. I don’t even think I want to see the movie after reading it.

Source: Goodreads. Tom

Leave a Reply

