Confessions, by Saint Augustine of Hippo, trans. Henry Chadwick: Most of the time I had no idea what I was reading

This book had its moments. But for the most part it was a difficult and confusing read.

The writing was very vague and a great deal of the vocabulary was way over my head. Most of the time I had no idea what I was reading. I felt like I do when I watch one of those artsy-fartsy movies and I just stare at the screen and have no idea what message is being sent.

It may have something to do with the translation, as I have currently read the first 100 or so pages of Saint Augustine’s “City of God” and it is rather enjoyable so far.

Source: Goodreads. Shawn.

Leave a Reply

