Mrs Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf: Burn After Reading

What I learned from this book:
“So… uh, what did we learn?
I don’t know either.
I guess we learned never to do that again.
F— if I know what we did.”
-Burn After Reading
(wow, this quote is useful so often. 🙂

So, yeah, I’m never reading another book by Virginia Woolf. Ever. I failed to follow my Aunt Lynn’s advice – and even after I knew there was no hope of redemption, I made myself slog through until the end of the book. And it was absolutely not worth it. The back of the book says “Mrs. Dalloway contains some of the most beautiful, complex, incisive and idiosyncratic sentences ever written in the English language.” … no wonder I couldn’t figure out what was going on. When I finished the book, I actually searched online for a plot summary, so that I would know what the book was about.

Source: Goodreads. Kate.

Leave a Reply

