The Divine Comedy, by Dante Alighieri: It’s just some guy who’s putting people in a fictional Hell/Purgatory/Paradise

I’ve read the whole Divine Comedy once, all the way through, and then skimmed Inferno a second time for a class I had. I get all of his jokes, why he put the people where he put them, the religious reason for everything being in triads, I was aware of the basic facts of the political situation during his time; I basically just get it, and it’s not that great to me. It’s just some guy who’s putting people in a fictional Hell/Purgatory/Paradise where he thinks they’d belong. That’s not that great of an idea to me, and actually comes off as a little adolescent.

Sure, there’s symbolism in the punishments themselves. Sometimes it is quite clever. I certainly like his image of Satan at the bottom. But, in my humble opinion, this is the most overrated book in history.

Source: Goodreads. Samuel.

Leave a Reply

