The Sound and the Fury, by William Faulkner: I couldn’t take it anymore.

Is it fair to write a review after reading only 150 pages? Well, I wanted to like this book. I gave it a shot, but 150 pages in, I couldn’t take it anymore and abandoned it on the subway. It’s utterly unintelligible. I got the basic gist, but I had no clue about the characters’ motivations, their interactions, and I didn’t like the fact that in the first 10 pages the author deluges us with something like a dozen characters, none of which I could tell apart, none of which I could understand and none of which I could care about. A great book should be at least a little accessible. The author might have something great to say, but if he can’t say it in English, I don’t see the point. It’s like the Emperor’s New Clothes. Everyone says it’s a great book, but I’ll bet a lot of those who do are only saying it because they’re afraid to admit that Faulkner’s too smart for them. Life is too short to read lousy books. Skip this one.

Source: Amazon. A customer.

Leave a Reply

