A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens: I am surprised that this was all the story was about.

 

This is the first and last Charles Dickens novel or any 19th century novel I will ever read….unless I am stuck on a deserted island and have enough time and concentration to spend on analysing old english.

I wish I could read like a literature major…but I can’t. I understood the story…but was struggling so much with the language that I never got a feeling or attachment to any of the characters.

I read the Wikipedia right up. It summarized the book very well. I understood it….I guess for all that reading…I am surprised that this was all the story was about.

It was a like an 19th century soap opera.

I had a friend that loved and read and reread all of Charles Dickens novels. I wish I was her, but I am not. I like a story told in clear concise english. I really find it hard to believe that you could travel back to the 19th century and people would speak the way Dickens claims they did

4 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens: I am surprised that this was all the story was about.

  1. Remember Dickens was writing when books were the only show in town…no TV, radio, few opportunities to see a play unless you were well off AND lived in a big city….instead family storytelling around the fireside by candlelight. It must have been such a relief to read Dickens in weekly installments instead of having to listen to Uncle Ned tell again the story about losing his leg at Waterloo.
    And did they talk like that then….? well, everything he wrote was popular with ordinary people so that’s one test. Don’t judge it by the language of his books but by the dialogue of his characters, especially the horrible ones and the funny ones….
    They do say that Two Cities is the least Dickensian of all his books…read him in snippets for his clever sentences. he could control commas and full stops better than anyone. Bitesize Dickens was the way he was read back then…

  2. Author writes: “read the Wikipedia right up.”

    I assume he means the Wikipedia WRITE UP. Which leads me to believe that the reviewer’s problem with what he calls “old English” isn’t a problem with Dickens’ writing at all, but with the reviewers ignorance. After all, if he hasn’t mastered MODERN English, I suppose we shouldn’t be too surprised that he cannot read 19th century English either.

  3. Pingback: This Week's Top Ten Poetic Picks - Tweetspeak Poetry

Leave a Reply

